Sunday, 5 May 2013

Australia confirms objective for 12 strong Submarine Fleet, rules out off-the-shelf options

Australian Prime Minister Julia Gillard, Minister for Defence Stephen Smith and Minister for Defence Materiel Mike Kelly today announced further steps the Government has taken to progress the Future Submarine Program. The 2013 Australian Defence White Paper confirms the Government’s commitment to replacing the existing Collins Class fleet with an expanded fleet of 12 conventional submarines to be assembled in South Australia, but it rules out any submarine design available off-the-shelf.

No comments:

Post a Comment